Primary tabs

Teacher of the Year

Teacher of the Year Application Button

2023 Teacher of the Year Application is Under Construction

Please check back on 12/5/22

Congratulations to the 2022 Stanislaus County Teachers of the Year

The Stanislaus County Office of Education and Modesto Rotary are pleased to introduce you to this year's Teachers of the Year.

  • High School Category - Eli Bynum, Thomas Downey, Modesto City Schools
  • 7-8th Grade Category - Charlyn Selee, Dutcher Middle, Turlock Unified School District
  • 4-6th Grade Category - Danelle Garcia, Mary Lou Dieterich Elementary, Stanislaus Union School District
  • TK-3rd Grade Category - Chelsea Bustos, Sinclear Elementary, Ceres Unified School District

Click on the videos below to learn more about the teachers.

Video clips of the 2022 Teacher of the Year Finalists
High School Category 7-8th grade Category


2022 Stanislaus County Teachers of the Year Announced

The Modesto Rotary Club and the Stanislaus County Office of Education (SCOE) announced the selection of four local educators as 2022 Stanislaus County Teachers of the Year on May 3 at the DoubleTree Hotel. In addition, a Jane Johnston Civility Award was presented to one of the 12 finalists for exemplifying the principles of civility. "SCOE received 57 nominations from public and private school principals from throughout the county," said Jason Maggard, SCOE Chief of Staff. "A selection committee, composed of local Rotarians and educators, narrowed the nominations through a paper screening process and then visited the classrooms of 24 semi-finalists before narrowing it down to the 12 finalists. We are thrilled that we were finally able to recognize our Teacher of the Year Finalists."

The 2020-21 Teachers of the Year are Chelsea Bustos from Sinclear Elementary School, Ceres Unified School District – TK-3 division; Danelle Garcia from Dieterich Elementary School, Stanislaus Union Elementary School District – 4-6 division; Charlyn Selee from Dutcher Middle, Turlock Unified School District – junior high division; and Eli Bynum from Downey High School, Modesto City School – high school division.
The four selected as Teachers of the Year each received a $1,000 cash award from the Modesto Rotary Club Foundation. Mocse Credit Union also sponsored the event and provided funding for the awards, decorations and lunch for the student entertainers.

T The 2022 Teachers of the Year Finalists included:

Elementary (TK-3) Level      SCHOOL                                               District
Chelsea Bustos                  Sinclear Elementary                            Ceres Unified
Kelsey Larrabee                 Magnolia Elementary                          Oakdale Jt. Unified
Kelli Redman                      Chatom Elementary                            Chatom Union

Elementary (4-6) Level         SCHOOL                                             District
Danelle Garcia                         Dieterich Elementary                    Stanislaus Union
Amy Harper                            Freedom Elementary                      Sylvan Union
Janette Schmidt                       Fox Road Elementary                   Hughson Unified


Junior High Level                             SCHOOL                                 DISTRICT
Amanda Bailey                       Blaker-Kinser Jr. High                        Ceres Unified
Kelli Conner                            Beaver Elementary                            Ceres Unified
Charlyn Selee                        Dutcher Middle School                    Turlock Unified

High School Level                            SCHOOL                                       DISTRICT
Eli Bynum                               Thomas Downey High                      Modesto City
Megan Hulst                            Central Valley High                             Ceres Unified
Yohan Partan                          Pitman High                                        Turlock Unified




Contact Us

Renee Mohrbacher

1100 H Street
Modesto, CA 95354

Key Contacts

Picture of Jason Maggard

Jason Maggard

Chief of Staff, Administrative Services
Picture of Renee Mohrbacher

Renee Mohrbacher

Prevention Programs Manager
Picture of Judy Boring

Judy Boring

Public Information Officer, Administrative Services
Picture of Cynthia Fenech

Cynthia Fenech

Communications Director, Administrative Services